Skip to content

Fourth Grade: Meet Ms. Chanter

November 30, 2012

By Dina F-B.

Q. Where were you born?
A. I was born in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Q. What brought you to the Bay Area?
A. I was a sales rep. That’s a job where I had to travel around the country. I was sent to St. Louis, then Seattle, and finally to San Francisco.

Q. How many years have you been teaching?
A. I have been teaching for 11 years. I previously taught in the San Francisco School District.

Q. What did you do before your teaching career?
A. I worked for Random House book company as a sales rep. A sales rep is someone who goes to independent bookstores and advertises books.

Q. Why did you switch professions?
A. Independent bookstores started to close, and my friends worked at them, which made me sad. One summer, I decided to volunteer with kids in Chinatown. I learned that I really liked being around kids, so I decided to be a teacher.

Q. What is the easiest thing about teaching?
A. Learning is fun! And as a teacher, I do it all the time!

Q. What is the hardest thing about teaching?
A. It is very difficult to control all the papers I receive.
Q. Why do you like being a teacher?
A. I like being a teacher because kids make me laugh! I love to get others excited about learning, too.

Q. If you could visit one place in the world with no airfare, what would it be?
A. I would either go to Australia or Scotland.

Q. Do you have any hobbies?
A. Yes. I enjoy doing paper crafts and sewing in my free time. I also enjoy nature journaling, where I get to draw and write about things I observe in nature.

Q. What’s one fun fact about yourself?
A. Even though I’m a grown-up, my favorite food is mac and cheese.

Comments are closed.