Skip to content

Interview with My Dad

June 9, 2013

By Royce L.

Since Father’s Day is coming up, Royce interviewed his dad to find out more about his job.

What do you do when you work?
As a lawyer, I represent workers in lawsuits against their employers.  Most of my cases are class actions, where I represent groups of workers, from as few as 50 workers to as many as 4,000.  Most of my cases deal with the failure to properly pay wages or provide benefits.  I also do some discrimination cases based on disability, and I am the Hearing Officer for the City of Oakland’s Citizen’s Police Review Board.

Do you like being a lawyer?
Yes, most of the time.  A lot depends on the attorneys on the other side of the case.  Since class actions can take as long as eight to ten years to resolve, you can be stuck dealing with difficult people for a long time.  Then, it’s not fun.

Are you very busy?
Most of the time, yes.  It can vary greatly.

Do you interview a lot of people?
Yes, that’s one thing I do all the time.  Since I represent groups of workers, I try to interview as many as possible to prepare the case for trial.  Getting to know my clients is one of the things I like best about my job.

What did you like to do at school?
I enjoyed writing.  I had a very good English teacher in high school who prepared me well for college and law.    Montclair students are learning writing skills that I did not learn until high school or college.  I think many of you will be surprised to learn how far those skills can take you.

What do you do in your spare time?
I play video games with my son Royce and listen to music with my daughter Laila.  Other than that, I like traveling, fishing, and boating.

SUMMER FUN TIP: Try interviewing someone you know this summer.  You might learn something new about them!

Comments are closed.