Skip to content

10 Questions for: Avery, 3rd Grade Spelling Bee Winner

February 19, 2014

Spelling Bee clip art from DiscoverySchool.com

Clip art licensed from the Clip Art Gallery on DiscoverySchool.com


By Nikhila R.

Montclair Elementary’s annual spelling bee took place January 14th. Kamilah B. won the spelling bee, and Avery R. and Samantha R. were the runners-up. I asked Avery about her experience.

1. Was this your first spelling bee?
A. Yes.

2. How did you feel when you were on stage?
A. Nervous and 97 percent confident.

3. Did you practice? How? For how long?
A. I practiced for a few weeks by saying, spelling, and learning the pronunciation.

4. In class do you make spelling mistakes on tests?
A. The most I got wrong was two or at the very most four. I mostly get all of them right.

5. Do you have a trick or system that helps you remember how words are spelled?
A. I pat my thighs to keep the beat of the word.

6. Is there a word that is hard for you that you keep spelling wrong?
A. Yes. The word is “definitely.”

7. Which do you think is hardest to spell: nouns, verbs, adjectives, or adverbs?
A. I don’t think that any of them are too hard.

8. Will you compete in the spelling bee again next year in 4th grade?
A. Of course!

9. Do you have advice for students who think spelling is hard but want to enter next year’s spelling bee?
A. Believe in yourself and don’t say discouraging words.

10. How did you feel when you won the 3rd grade spelling bee championship?
A. I was very happy and couldn’t believe it happened.

Comments are closed.