Skip to content

Living with a Peanut Allergy

June 6, 2014
Peanut package photo by David Park via Flickr

Photo: David Park via Flickr

By Kelsey D.

When I was two I ate a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, then I got a rash.

My allergy doctor confirmed that I have a peanut allergy and said not to eat peanuts or anything that is manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts. Luckily I’ve never had a serious reaction and we are hoping I will grow out of it.

It has been a little difficult avoiding products with peanuts. Most chocolates, candies and cookies either have peanuts or are manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts. So are a lot of brands of ice creams, cereals, and granola bars.

I end up eating more whole foods rather than packaged foods. Instead of eating peanut butter sandwiches I eat turkey, cheese, or hummus.

Thankfully I’m not allergic to tree nuts because then I wouldn’t be able to have almond butter, sun butter, or my favorite, pistachio butter.

It seems like most of the things I can’t eat are unhealthy. Because there are so many sweets I cannot eat, I’ve developed healthier eating habits.

Sometimes I feel jealous when I see other people eating things that look good to me but have peanuts. Even though I feel sad sometimes I know it’s okay because there are plenty of yummy things I can eat and I’m lucky to be as healthy as I am.

Comments are closed.