Skip to content

Meet Annie Campbell Washington

February 15, 2015

Councilperson Annie Campbell Washington

City Council Member Annie Campbell Washington with some of her supporters during the campaign. Photo courtesy of Annie Campbell Washington.


By Ben O.

In November, Oakland residents elected Montclair mom Annie Campbell Washington to be our new District 4 City Council Member.

Q. What does a City Council Member do?

A. The City Council governs the City of Oakland. Each Council member proposes bills and votes on laws for Oakland. There are eight Council members, so it takes a majority (or five) of the members to vote yes in order to pass a new law or resolution. One of the biggest jobs of the City Council is to adopt the City of Oakland’s budget. The budget is the document that tells City staff and the public how every tax dollar will be spent. In the City of Oakland, our tax dollars are spent on things like police, firefighters, staff members to clean up and maintain our parks, staff to run programs at our recreation centers and libraries, and staff to work with our businesses.

I represent District 4 which includes the neighborhoods of Montclair, Piedmont Pines, Redwood Heights, Oakmore, Dimond, Laurel, Allendale, and Melrose. People who live and work in these neighborhoods call me to help them if they have a problem in Oakland.

Q. What made you decide to run for City Council?
A. I have always loved to do jobs where I feel like I can help people and I absolutely love our city of Oakland. The Councilmember job is perfect for me because I love solving
problems and making people’s lives easier when I can. I also like helping the schools so that every Oakland student has an excellent school to attend. There is much that our City government can do to help our Oakland schools.

Q. What did you do before you became a Council Member?
A. I was the District 4 Oakland School Board Member and made decisions to improve our Oakland schools. I was the Director of a program called the I Have A Dream Foundation. In this job, I helped 95 middle schools students do better in school with tutors, mentors, and other programs. I worked for two Mayors of Oakland — Jerry Brown (who is now the Governor of California) and Jean Quan. I also worked in the Oakland Fire Department for the Fire Chief.

Q. What are your plans to protect the neighborhoods in District 4 from crime?
A. I am going to make sure we continue to hire more police officers, so that when someone calls 911, a police officer shows up quickly. I am going to encourage neighbors to watch out for one another and report any crimes that they see, so that we can catch all the bad guys to keep them from committing any more crimes. I am also going to plan events in District 4 to bring the police officers together with the people who live here to make sure the officers get to know the neighborhood and form strong relationships with District 4 neighbors.

Q. If you had one goal for the district, what would it be?
A. My goal is to make sure that everyone is living in a safe, clean neighborhood with an excellent school!

Q. If you had a fire, what three items would you take?
A. I don’t need any things. I just need my husband, Glynn, my daughter, Bahia, and my son, Quincy. Everything else is replaceable!

Q. What’s your favorite food?
A. My favorite restaurant is Burma Superstar. My favorite food is brussel sprouts. My favorite dessert is chocolate chip cookies.

Q. What’s your favorite thing to do during your free time?
A. I love to go camping and hiking. I especially love to go to Yosemite and Big Sur.

Comments are closed.