Skip to content

Book Review: A Must-Read Book for This Summer

June 6, 2017

By Miriam R.
Illustration by Maya K.

Butterfly illustration by Maya K.

Step by step I make a path.
Step by step I discover myself.
How could I know the trees are my sisters
When my roots began in a faraway soil?

These are lines from a poem in a book called I Lived on Butterfly Hill by Marjorie Agosin. This poem could change the world. This poem is written by the young character in the book, who is describing how it feels to have her heart in one place and her body in another. The meaning of it really affects me because I can almost feel her struggle.

The main character in this historical fiction book, Celeste, lives in Valpraiso, Chile. The government is taken over by a military dictatorship that doesn’t want people like her family to live there anymore because the military doesn’t like people that care about the poor or disadvantaged. Celeste tells her story of escaping the dictatorship in Chile and going to Maine. She doesn’t know anyone in the United States and she doesn’t speak any English. In the book you can see that Celeste really works on her English and changes over time.

I love this book because the author is a beautiful writer. One of the things that really affects me is the figurative language. Have you ever thought of using the words the “sky reminds me of a highway” in your writing? I also love this book because it’s a meaningful story based on the author’s real life and experiences leaving her country.

And, finally (I hope I can convince you to read this book), I want to mention that this book relates to this time in history. This book is is about the struggles of immigrants waiting to get to a new land. Celeste’s Chile is falling into the wrong hands. Does this sound familiar? Our current president is not letting people in similar serious situations come to this country.

Have I convinced you to read this book yet? I hope so, because this is the only book I believe that is as interesting as Percy Jackson, even though these two books are nothing alike; I Lived On Butterfly Hill is a realistic story and Percy Jackson is fantasy. My recommendation says a lot, because I have good taste in books!

Comments are closed.