Skip to content

Summer Fun

June 6, 2017

By Zoe K.
Illustration by Zoe K.

Summer Fun illustration by Zoe K.

Can you believe it is finally summer?! I’ll be getting ready for middle school since I’m graduating, so this is my last article for Montclair Elementary. But in the meantime, what to do this summer?

The weather should be nice and warm, and if you’re lucky, maybe you can go to a baseball game or a theme park. But there are many things to do for free that are also fun.

You can sign up for the summer reading program at the Oakland Public Library. By just reading, you can earn lots of prizes like books, ferry rides, A’s tickets, and many other things.

Also, you can use your library card to get free museum tickets. Go to discoverandgo.org for more information.

You can find information on events just for kids at bayareakidfun.com.

If you like movies, keep an eye out for Captain Underpants, Cars 3, and Despicable Me 3, coming in June 2017. Or you can go to Redwood Heights Park for free outdoor movies.

As for me, you’ll probably find me at a pool or on my bike. Whatever you do, I hope you all have a great summer!

Comments are closed.